Press - May 10, 2016

NBNA 2016 Presidential Awardees

Media Contact:
Name: Dr. Millicent Gorham
Phone: 301-589-3200

The National Black Nurses Association is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 Presidential Awards.  The awardees will be honored at the President's Gala on Saturday, August 6, 2016, Memphis Cook Convention Center, Memphis, TN, during the 45th Anniversary and 44th NBNA Annual Institute and Conference, August 2 - 7, 2016.   
"I am extremely excited to honor NBNA members and nurses who are the foundation of the National Black Nurses Association.  These nurses have made their mark internationally as leaders and as innovators.   These nurse leaders have inspired generations of nurses to find their passion as clinicians, academicians and researchers; at the bedside, in the military, in the community, and in the board room. These nurses exemplify the very best in nursing", stated Dr. Eric J. Williams, NBNA President.  
The NBNA Life Time Achievement Award recipient is:
Linda Burnes Bolton, DrPH, RN, FAAN, NBNA Past President,
Chief Nursing Executive, Vice President, Nursing, Chief Nursing Officer,
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA.  Dr. Bolton is the immediate past president of the American Organization of Nurse Executives and past president of the American Academy of Nursing.  She was the co-chair of the 2010 IOM Report on The Future of Nursing.  She serves on the Board of Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing at Case Western Reserve University.   
The NBNA Trailblazer Award recipients are:
RADM Sylvia Trent-Adams, PhD, RN, FAAN, Deputy Surgeon General and Chief Nursing Officer, U.S. Public Health Service, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Rockville, MD.  
Veronica Clarke-Tasker, PhD, RN, MBA, MPH, MDiv, Professor, Howard
University College of Nursing and Allied Health Sciences, Division of
Nursing, Washington, DC.  Dr. Clarke-Tasker serves as the Howard University Faculty 
Senate Vice Chair.  She served as the NBNA Secretary. 
 Angelo Moore, PhD, MSN, BSN, FNP-BC, RN, Chief Nurse, Education,
 Fayetteville VA Medical Center, Fayetteville, NC.  Dr. Moore is a retired              
 Lieutenant Colonel (LTC) with 25 years of active duty service in the US
Mary Holt Ashley, PhD, RN, retired Chief Nursing Executive, Harris   
County Hospital District; former chief nursing officer, Ben Taub General  
Hospital; Founding Member of the Fort Bend County Black Nurses
Association; and, Author, Leaders Get Up Off the Canvas, Houston, TX.    
Yolanda M. Powell-Young, PhD, PCNS-BC, CPN, professor,               
Alcorn State University, Natchez, MS; Editor-in-Chief, NBNA Newsletter; 
Chair, Ad Hoc Committee on Obesity; Education Committee Member,
Southern Regional Education Board, New Orleans, LA.   
The National Black Nurses Association's mission is to "represent and provide a forum for Black Nurses to advocate and implement strategies to ensure access to the highest quality of healthcare for persons of color".