Press - May 8th, 2018


For Immediate Release
Media Contact:
Dr. Millicent Gorham
National Black Nurses Association Announces 2018 Presidential Awardees

The National Black Nurses Association is pleased to announce its 2018 Presidential Awardees.  The NBNA Life Time Achievement Awardee is Dr. C. Alicia Georges.  The five Trailblazer Award recipients are Dr. F. Diane Barber, Dr. Wallena “Lena” Gould, Mary L. Kelly, Dr. Randolph Rasch and Dr. Cheryl Taylor. “All of the recipients chosen are stellar nurse leaders in their respective fields”, stated Dr. Eric J. Williams, the NBNA first male President.  “I am honoring and recognizing these nurses for their extraordinary contributions in academia, research, practice and administration.”     

The Presidential Awards will be bestowed on Saturday, August 4, 2018 at the President’s Gala, at the St. Louis Union Station Hotel, St. Louis, MO, during the NBNA 46th Annual Institute and Conference.

C. Alicia Georges, EdD, RN, FAAN, is the Chairperson and Professor, Department of Nursing, Lehman College of CUNY, Bronx, NY.  Dr. Georges is a Past President of the National Black Nurses Association and President-elect of AARP.  She is President of the National Black Nurses Foundation.

Fedricker Diane Barber, PhD, ANP, BC, AOCNP, is the Supervisor of Advance Practice Providers and Nurse Practitioner in the Department of Investigational Cancer Therapeutics at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.  She is a Director at Large of the Oncology Nursing Society and a Past President of the Houston Chapter Oncology Nursing Society.  Dr. Barber is a Past President of the Fort Bend County Black Nurses

Wallena “Lena” Gould, EdD, CRNA, FAAN, is the Founder and CEO of the Diversity in Nurse Anesthesia Mentorship Program.  Dr. Gould conducts weekend long information session and airway simulation lab workshops.  She instructs nurses on the rigors of applying to and matriculating into Nurse Anesthesia Programs; provides Diversity CRNA Schools of Nursing Tours; and, offers Diversity Advance Practice Nurse Doctorate Symposium Conferences.

Mary L. Kelly, DNP©, MSN, MHA, RN, NEA-BC, Mary spent many years working in various clinical and administrative roles in the Charity Hospital and Louisiana State University (LSU) Health System prior to joining the Louisiana Children’s Medical Center (LCMC) Health System. She currently serves as the Senior Director of Inpatient
Medical Surgical Services and Nursing Support Services, at the University Medical Center New
Orleans (UMCNO). Prior to joining LCMC, in her current role, Mary served as the Chief Nursing
Officer (CNO) of the New Orleans East Hospital.

Randolph Rasch, PhD, RN, FAANP is the 9th dean and professor of the Michigan State University College of Nursing. He is a Distinguished Scholar and Fellow in the National Academies of Practice (DS-FNAP).  Dr. Rasch holds the distinction of being the first African American male graduate of the Bachelor of Science (BS) nursing program at Andrews University and the first African American male masters prepared FNP, MSN awarded by the Vanderbilt School of Nursing. He is the first African American male to hold the PhD in nursing, which was awarded by The University of Texas at Austin; and, was the first African American male public health nurse in the State of Michigan.

Cheryl Taylor, PhD, RN, FAAN, is the Associate Professor and the Chairperson of Graduate Nursing  Programs; and, the Jewell L. and James Prestage Endowed Professor / Kellogg, Southern University and A&M College of Nursing and Allied Health, New Orleans, LA. Dr. Taylor is the National League for Nursing Consultant to the National Student Nurses' Association, Inc.

The NBNA mission is “to serve as the voice for Black nurses and diverse populations ensuring equal access to professional development, promoting educational opportunities and improving health”.